Maya Geometry Sculpture Tool: Modeling the forbidden fruit

I’ve never done organic modeling before. And I’ve mentioned below that I should start with something simple, like an apple.

It turned out something like this.

I used some tools that were new to me, like the sculpt geometry tool – it’s awesome! When modeling buildings and interior, I only really used boolean operations so this was a really good find. Now I don’t intend to make this into a tutorial (but more like the making of), but here’s how I got to the forbidden fruit.

First, I started off with a primitive polygon sphere of radius 5 or so.

I made the value of subdivisions 8 rather than the default value of 20 for both axis and height to make it more easier to model.

I started to pull some vertices with the move tool to get a basic shape of an apple. Anything not a sphere was good.

To make the top of the apple, I used the Duplicate Edge Loop Tool in Edit Polygons. With the tool selected, I clicked on the top most loop and slid the mouse a little to get 2 extra edge loops as below.

Then used the move tool again to move some selected vertices downwards.

And same goes for the bottom of the apple:

Now came the fun part. I used the Sculpt Geometry Tool in Edit Polygons menu to push and pull some vertices to get a better basic shape of an apple. The aim was to make some bumps here and there to make the apple look natural. When selecting the Sculpt Geometry Tool, I selected the box next to it to open up the tool options. Max. Displacement was set to 0.05 (and then later to 0.02). Then either the Push or Pull options were selected to push and pull vertices.

Once I was happy with the basic shape, I used the Smooth tool and it looked something like this:

I made a stick and a leaf. The stick was made from a primitive polygon cylinder with 8 subdivisions for its axis and 3 for its height. I manipulated some of its vertices with the move tool to make the stick look bent. The leaf was made from a primitive polygon plane. I made it have 2 subdivision long ways and 3 subdivisions side ways and manipulated the end vertices with the move tool to make it look like a leaf (or just a long hexagon).

I Google imaged for ‘apple’ and found this.

Then used photoshop to make a material file by using the middle part of the image above and changing the hue and saturation. The material file ended up being like this. Not great, but good enough.

I made a new Blinn material and placed a 2D texture (above) onto it. Not much manipulation of the material here. For the stick and the leaf, I made a Lambert material for each and just assigned them with colours (brown and green). I wasn’t into making it look too realistic.

Finally, I smoothed the stick and the apple sphere once more.

And volia – I had a nice apple :) The image below is just to show the leaf geometry a bit more.

It’s not that realistic an apple, but it’s good enough for my first ever organic modeling :)

One Comment Add yours

  1. Cindy Moore says:

    I cannot even begin to tell you how much you just helped me figure this out. Thanks for sharing! :-)

Leave a Reply

